Home The Boiler Room

Vaillant Green iQ ecoTec Boiler

Has anyone tried to use Tado with this boiler. I am not clear on whether doing so will mess up the performance of such a boiler which uses outside air temp and analysis of performance at Vaillants own servers to adjust the startup time to achieve maximum efficiency. I would appreciate any comments on this . Thanks

Comments

• @Nidge

I am not an expert on boilers or Vaillant but in general they use the eBus protocol. Vaillant boilers fitted with the VR-65 controller module are supported by Tado in that Tado understands the eBus 'dialect' spoken by the VR-65.

However the VR-65 has been superseded by the VR-66 and Tado have not yet decoded the eBus dialect spoken by that version.

It is possible to wire the Tado to a Vaillant fitted with a VR-66 in the old style 'call for heat' configuration. This however loses all the smartness that eBus could otherwise provide.

Some probably many makes of boilers have the option of something called a 'weather compensator'.

This is not the same thing as a fullblown eBus (or OpenTherm) smart thermostat but can enable the 'modulated' heating control that is a feature of eBus and OpenTherm. (It would conflict with a smart thermostat trying to do this.)

It is not clear if what you are describing is along the lines of a weather compensator or might be a half way house solution along with a Tado in 'call for heat' mode.

I suggest you raise a support ticket with Tado with the specific model details for advice.