Why does my Worcester Greenplus HE 35 Combi boiler keep firing up? - Problem with TRV's?

Hi all, just wondered if anyone had any ideas on how to solve this. Apologies this is quite lengthy and I am not a pro (obviously)!

I have a Worcester Greenplus HE 35 Combi boiler. I connected the wireless control to it using the instructions. Then I set up the bridge, paired the thermostat and 4 Tado smart thermostatic valves. The smart valves are all in upstairs bedrooms. The thermostat is downstairs. There are 4 radiators downstairs which have non smart thermostatic valves.

After I installed the wireless control I could not get it to fire up the boiler. Apparently it was connected to the bridge, thermostat and smart valves but just would not respond. I ensured to set the boiler time and date correctly as well as set the heating dial on the actual boiler to constant on and E setting as suggested by Worcester boiler manual.

After spending ages disconnecting and reconnecting I did some searching online and found that someone had tried wiring the controller in an alternative way. Essentially, I excluded the black wire, then connected the other wires to a connector inside the boiler to connections 1,2 and 4 (rather than Ns (blue),Ls and Lr as advised). I then put a wire to bridge Ls and Lr. This actually worked in that the boiler now seems to recognise and respond to the Tado smart valves.