What Does This Infinity Symbol Mean?

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Tado having just changed from Hive. I have a couple of questions someone may be able to help me with:

This “infinity” symbol has just started to appear and having trawled through various posts and support docs, I can’t find any explanation as to what it means.

Secondly, the installation was reasonably easy but I notice that the Hot Water icon comes on when the hot water schedule is active, unlike the central heating when the icon for that comes on only when the boiler is firing to heat . On my old Hive system, the hot water light only came on when the boiler was heating the water or both lights in the case where heating and water were causing the boiler to fire. Is it correct for the Tado indicator to come on when a schedule is active irrespective of whether the boiler is firing?

Many thanks!

Best Answers

• cbd20
    cbd20 ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    @Madmacs The infinity symbol literally means forever, or more specifically "until you cancel" as it says above.

If you drag the slider that symbol will change to the duration you wish the manual change to run for.

You can change in the settings for a room the default behaviour for a manual change. I guess you've got yours set to "until you cancel" as your default.
  • cbd20
    cbd20 ✭✭✭
    edited February 2021 Answer ✓

@Madmacs are you using any smart assistants to control your heating or other smart devices?

They will exhibit themselves as manual control in Tado.

The confusion can occur if you have vague commands for switching on and off lights in rooms for example. The assistant can sometimes mistakenly also adjust your heating. The commands need to be very precise.

In terms of the lights on the wireless receiver, I'm not sure as I have the old extension kit which doesn't have the same lights on it. However, I know the app shows HW as on when the schedule is active, regardless of if the boiler is actually firing at that moment in time.