First experiences, how does it actually work?

Options
CsGeza
CsGeza
edited October 2019 in General Questions & Topics

Hi,

I'm new in tado. Yesterday I have installed V3 Thermostat with Extension kit.

I have floor heating in living room and radiator heating in other rooms. I need very small switching hysteresis because the thermostat in living room and floor heating is very slowly.

I have different feelings after the first night with tado.

Setpoint was 22°C. It was still heating over 22°C, at 22.4 I have changed setpoint to 21.5°C then stopped.

I didn't find any specifications, what is the switching range? Me would be the 0.1°C perfect.

Setpoint 22C then heat on 21.9, heat off 22 (or 22.1). Is it possible with tado?

What does heating icon mean, one-two-tree heat-line?

Thanks for your help.

Best Answer

Answers

• Vertigo
    Vertigo ✭✭✭
    Options

I cant help with your questions (fellow newbie here) but can I ask first, is that a iOS screenshot? On my android app I cant select a time on the graph to read the exact value like in your screenshot, which is annoying as the Y axis has only 2 horizontal division lines (17C and 20C in the one im looking at) and I just have to guess what the temperature was.

But like you, IIm also interested in understanding the "heating power". I see in openhab it varies between 0 and 100%, but my boiler only supports on/off, and I cant figure out when it actually turns on or off. Just now heating power was at 24% and the boiler ran for a bit.

I will say tado does appear to do a good job maintaining temperatures in my setup, preemptively stopping heating when the radiators are hot and getting pretty close to its target most of the time. I think it learns how your heating system works to prevent over/undershoots so perhaps you should give it some time to learn your system?

• CsGeza
    Options

Thanks for your answer. ;)

Yes, it's on iOS.