Have I bought the right kit? Tado "Whole home bundle" + Baxi 830 boiler

Hi there,

I'm completely new to Tado but was sold on it when there was an offer on Costco a few months back. We've just bought our new house and are having a new boiler and radiators installed.

The plumber is recommending a Baxi 830 boiler.

The kit I've purchased is:

I've also purchased a couple of extra TRVs.

Can anyone in the know tell me if this will all work well with the Baxi?

I've seen some threads suggesting that some of the tado stuff sold here in the UK isn't fully functional with OpenTherm?

Any pointers before I open any of the boxes Costco supplied would be so welcome.

Thanks,

Steve

Answers

• It depends if you're getting a Baxi 830 Combi or Baxi 830 Heat Only. The latter is used with a hot water cylinder.

If you have a hot water cylinder then you definitely have the correct kit as you will need the twin relay control for CH and HW. If it's a Combi then you won't be able to use Opentherm with that variant of the wireless receiver. Opentherm has a benefit over relay control, but it's not significant.

• johnnyp78
    johnnyp78 ✭✭✭
    If you want to use Opentherm it will need to be a combi boiler rather then a system (hot water tank) boiler. You’ll need to get either the EU extension kit or the old single button one. Otherwise use what you’ve got with 230v relay. You’ll need to if it’s a system boiler anyway
  • Thanks to you both for your comments.

It is the Baxi 830 Combi (without a hot water tank).

I am so new to this stuff - can anyone give me a basic explanation of what features I'd be missing if I used the current kit I have versus ordering the EU Extension kit?