May buy Tado, would like more info. on Vaillant Ebus integratioin if possible.

Hello, I'm a Gas safe engineer myself and I'm considering Tado in my own home but also to possibly start fitting it for customers.

Regarding my own home - I have read some other posts but my specific questions don't seem to have been covered.

I have a two year old Vaillant Ecotec Plus 418 Open Vented (not a system) boiler on a y-plan system with a standard cylinder stat and HIVE controls. The hot water cylinder is a vented indirect.

I'm looking to try to get weather or load compensation from my boiler and, because of Vaillant only using the Ebus protocol, options are limited.

Vaillant V smart would be compatibe if I fitted a Vaillant VR65 or VR66 wiring centre although I think that V Smart has server issues and loses signal? The app may also not be as good as Tado.

I found out that Tado can speak Ebus and it does look like a good smart control.

To clarify, I don't want to control the system via on/off control which I already have with HIVE, I want to use the boiler's modulation capabilities which require Ebus.

Because of legionella, the Vaillant needs to do its weather or load compensation on heating mode and must not do it in hot water mode.

To do this, a Vaillant wiring centre must be used to wire the three port valve and cylinder stat or temperature sensor. This wiring centre's Ebus terminals then get wired to the boiler and the Tado or Vsmart. The three port valve can be set in the Ecotec's parameters to hot water priority, the boiler satisfies the hot water demand before the heating is allowed to operate. In doing this, it could use a different flow temperature when charging the cylinder as opposed to the heating.

I have obtained a second hand Vaillant VR65 unit. I heard that Tado Ebus can work with the older VR65 but not VR66.