The Big Idea Archive

Comments

• Tado do a trim plate for their Smart Thermostat and Extension Unit.

Unfortunately the Tado Smart AC does not fit this trim plate and they don't do an equivalent version for the Smart AC. It is surprising and disappointing they did not make the Smart Ac the same size as the Smart Thermostat and hence compatible.

• Increase limit to accommodate large properties. Would likely need to go hand in hand with possibility of multiple bridges or similar.
  • Exactly what PedroAndrade is saying. I also have one main and two bedroom thermostats. No need so say more, it's exactly what he is saying. I will update my main post.
  • I don't think I can edit my main post. I'm going to take PedroAndrade's post to create a new idea.
  • I've been running this system with 6 TRVs for a couple of months now and have the same issue. Reaches target temperature sometimes upwards of 2 hours prior to scheduled time when Early Start is enabled.

I was encouraged by a comment here, and another on the Reddit post, which suggested Tado support could 'tweak' something from their end to improve this on an individual basis. However when I contacted them the response was that "the Early Start feature is not intended for use with TRV's, only for systems with a single Smart Thermostat".

Not great, as it seems to me the feature could still be useful with TRV's if it were to work properly (and learn). However if it is the position that it's not designed for use with TRV's then this should be made pretty clear in the app and in any documentation. It's not mentioned anywhere that I can see.

• Early start comes on far too early for my smart radiator valves. Like others on this forum, 3 and a half hours in advance, when it takes only 45mins to reach the target temperature.