Replacing 3 channels programmer - (2 zones) Rads, UFH and hot water

Options

I am not an electrician or plumber but I did manage to replace my 3 channels programmer (Horstmann H37xl series 2 channel plus programmer)

I have a S Plan system (can easily be identified if you have 2 pipes going to your valves). 

I have 3 valves for each of these

• Hot Water cylinder
  • Radiators
  • Underfloor heating

I have 2 thermostats one upstairs for the radiator and one downstairs for the underfloor heating

The Hot Water cylinder and the radiators are located upstairs. The underfloor heating is located downstairs

This is the Tado products I have purchased

Upstairs

I now have the “Wireless Smart Thermostat Starter Kit V3+ with Hot Water Control” set up to control the heat for the radiators and the hot water cylinder.

The programmer was replaced by the wireless receiver provided in the starter kit.

It was pretty straightforward to swap the old programmer with the wireless receiver. And re-wire the thermostat by following the instructions.

Wireless receiver (All terminal number are read from the left to the right)

• Programmer terminal 1 (green/yellow) to earth
  • Programmer terminal 2 (blue) to N
  • Programmer terminal 3 (brown) to L
  • Programmer terminal 6 to CH NO
  • Programmer terminal 8 to HW NO

Thermostat

I followed the instruction provided (I was lucky the colour of the wires were pretty standard - the colour might be different for you)

• Joined Switched Live (black) and Live (brown) 
  • Terminated Neutral (blue) and Earth (yellow/green)

IMPORTANT: After fitting the wireless receiver, I was left with one spare wire. The one that was wired to terminal 4 on the old programmer which was connected to the underfloor heating thermostat.

Downstairs

I have used the “Add-on Smart Thermostat” for the Underfloor heating.

The challenge with this Tado setup was to figure out how to supply Live to the new thermostat.