Smart TRVs and main SMART thermostat

I am keen to know how these work together; ie. which one takes precedent.

Lets say the temp in my hall (where the SMART thermostat is) is higher than the thermostat is set at - ie. boiler is not on. In one room the temperature is lower than than the temp setting on the radiator SMART TRV - will the boiler come on?

Basically - do the radiator SMART TRVs override the 'main' thermostat?

Comments

• Thanks for that explanation. Do you know if this is true of alternatives to tado - ie. Drayton Riser, Hive?

• eezytiger
    eezytiger ✭✭✭
    edited October 2021

Sorry. I have no knowledge of other brands. My research was very recent, but very brief. I didn't really give other brands any consideration. Tado was the first system I saw demonstrated and reviewed on a few YouTube videos and I liked what I saw.

In fact, when I first installed Tado, earlier this month, I started with only seven SRTs to replace my 33 year old and entirely non-functional dumb thermostats on the rads. While this was a massive improvement immediately it was only two days later that I bought the smart wired thermostat and realised the extra benefits of remote room boiler demand/control

While switching out the old thermostat/timer I also took the opportunity to change the boiler control from a simple on/off mains relay to e-Bus. Now the boiler temperature is highly modulated by Tado to match the actual heating demands and to maximise condensing boiler efficiency with cooler return temperatures than previously.

• Thanks, also will the SMART TRVs work in the same way with my (existing) standard thermostat in the hall? Wondering what SMART functionality on the main thermostat gives me if I can control the temperature of ALL radiators (if I get SMART TRVs for all)?

• @dpardoe You need the Tado smart thermostat so that it can control the boiler as and when the radiators request heat.