Humming Pump

I installed a v3 wireless receiver today in place of my Honeywell and followed the instructions on the app.

It then said it looks like I might have a gravity fed system and I may need a driver. I have looked and believe I have a Y-Plan fully pumped system so didn’t bother with the driver.

The heating works perfect but I am worried about the hot water. The pump doesn’t appear to be circulating and gets very hot. It was quietly humming and started getting louder and the only way I could stop it was to turn off power to the system and reset.

Has anyone else experienced this? The pump is only 6 months old which British Gas installed when our previous pump failed. Worked fine with the Honeywell set up.

Comments

• I’m not an expert, but how was your old system wired? What triggered the pump? Not sure what a driver is in this context either.

There’s an old thread here where @GrilledCheese2 says it isn’t compatible
    https://tado.vanillacommunities.com/en-gb/discussion/11892/how-do-i-wire-a-separate-pump-to-receiver-unit

This chap seems to have done it (though I don’t quite understand how) https://www.reddit.com/r/tado/comments/j412hv/can_tado_stop_a_circulation_pump/

Either way it sounds like you need a competent installer to figure it out.
  • I suspect your system is not a standard Y-plan. The increased humming noise from the pump is likely to be it dead-heading (water is unable to move). This shouldn't happen when you have a 3 port valve because at least one port will always be open, even if the valve is unpowered/broken.

• Thanks for the replies. After a bit more investigation and checking this morning, it’s a y plan and wiring reflects this. There is a single valve.
    Seem to be 2 separate issues
    1) the pump hums when heating shuts off. When I turn the power off the noise stops and the motorised valve resets.
    2) the circulation pump does not come on when the hot water is switched on. This therefore doesn’t work.