Tado Wifi Mesh

Options

I'm new to Tado bear with me. I recently tried to get a Tado system with a 21 smart radiator Thermostats across 12 rooms/zones in my house. It failed upon set up as the bridge could not reach the around the house due to its reach/size of the house. The installer contacted Tado and was told a new Mesh version were all the tado devices will speak to each other and via its own wifi mesh (like my Sonos sound system and my Hue Lights system), BUT, this wasn't coming out till early 2024. I have still had the Tado system installed and so far I hooked up 4 smart radiator thermostats to the radiators that the bridge can reach and I have checked that I can reach at least another 4 radiators so was contemplating buying another 4 smart radiator thermostats. HOWEVER, does anyone know if the current smart radiator thermostats will be compatible with any new Tado mesh system I mentioned earlier or will I have to replace all of my smart radiator thermostats when the new mesh version comes out.

Comments

• johnnyp78
    Options
    It’s the first I’ve heard of it. Presumably this will be when Tado brings out matter (or possibly thread) compatible trvs. Can’t see any way they’ll be compatible with existing models but who knows.
  • rafm5
    rafm5 ✭✭✭
    edited December 2022
    Options

Very doubtful as the devices would require a hardware change. Even if they decide to release a new backwards compatible hub, users will still have issues between the child devices and the hub.

Sample scenario: Cloud <-> Hub (Thread / Matter / 6LoWPAN*) <-> existing child devices (6LoWPAN only)

• GrayDav4276
    GrayDav4276 ✭✭✭
    edited December 2022
    Options
    @Sean27
    @johnnyp78 is absolutely correct.....it seems very unlikely that the current range of SRT's etc will be compatible with any new release of tado° devices.