Modulation control in system boiler

Options
Manninm
Manninm
edited December 2022 in General Questions & Topics
Hi all,

I am new to the Tado community, and just purchased a V3+ wireless smart thermostat starter kit as I have a dual hive setup (HW and CH) and am interested in having more control of the system, and hopefully lower energy bills as a result.

I have a Worcester bosch greenstar 4000 18kw system boiler with unvented hotwater cylinder.

Having done some reading, I was disappointed to find out the V3+ wireless starter kit doesn't have the ability to modulate the output of the boiler, something I am very keen to implement, and something the hive cannot do.

My question is, if I replace the included wireless receiver with the "old" receiver, part number EK01-TC-UK-03, will this allow me to control both the HW and CH, and be able to implement modulation control via either opentherm or EMS to the boiler?

Many thanks in advance for your assistance!

Regards,
Mark

Best Answers

• johnnyp78
    johnnyp78 ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Generally speaking, if you have a system boiler you won’t be able to use modulation with it due to the need to provide hot water at 60c. If you’re willing to replumb to a priority domestic hot water system you might be able to get around this.

https://theintergasshop.co.uk/content/189-why-hot-water-priority-is-the-reason-s-and-y-plan-should-be-banned
  • Montage
    Montage ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Yes on the sensor location. I’d expect you’ll need to configure it on for the boiler to use it. You’ll gain control over the WC curve, for example.

I think I’d suggest having a chat with WB. If you can signal the boiler for DHW then you are sorted. Some boilers allow this, some not. It offers the potential for PDHW too, as Johnny suggests.

Regarding water storage/temp that’s a topic on its own. It’s common to store below 60 these days and do a weekly cycle to blast it higher. System/house/occupancy would all be factors.