2 zone setup with 2 wired thermostat and without boiler thremostat

Options

Hi,

I think it was discussed for a long time but search is hard. I am new to Tado, just bought 2 wired thermostat and 8 x Smart TRV which my house had 2 zones for Lower and Upper floor with a wired thermostat for each floor and a combi boiler without water tank. My question is when I installed the Tado TRV to the radiator, will it trigger the wired thermostat to call heat independently or need to use different configuration?

Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Answers

• johnnyp78
    Options
    The Tado trvs can be put in a room on the app which can then be set to call for heat. The smart thermostat would be linked to the heating zone valve and would be the device that sends the signal to open it.
  • uspeed
    Options
    Thanks for your reply.

Is that mean the individual trv can trigger the wired thermostat to call heat on same zone. Do I need to install the boiler heat control ?

Thank you
  • johnnyp78
    johnnyp78 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2023
    Options
    I think in most two zone setups you would just wire to the zone valves but if you’re unsure I would contact Tado directly or get a professional to look at your system.
  • uspeed
    Options

The current config will rely the wired thermostat to call heat. If individual trv can call the heat via the wired thermostat and it is ok. So, the wired thermostat only mainly for call heat with individual trvs. I am confused with the wired thermostat that work together with the wired one. Thanks

• johnnyp78
    Options
    I don’t understand, sorry. Tado uses a system of rooms, and one device per room is set as the measuring device which can call for heat, if that’s any help.
  • uspeed
    Options