w.Intercom = i;Hot Water turning on but heating isn't — tado° Community

Hot Water turning on but heating isn't

Hi all

Complete novice here and British Gas had no idea how to fix it either.

I have a V3+ kit with two separate zones for my underfloor heating and then the rest of the house is controlled by TRVs. The underfloor heating is connected to a wired thermostat.

Initially, everything was working fine for a few months.

For the last few months ago (yes I've waited too long), I would be able to turn on the heating from the app, the extension kit light would turn on and indicate it has received the message but my boiler doesn't fire. I can even hear the TRVs whirring and signalling they need heat.

Curiously, hot water is working fine.

It was around the time I disconnected my old Honeywell wired thermostat as I thought the main Tado wireless thermostat was doing the job. I can't be sure this triggered it as it was summer and we weren't using the heating everyday.

I've since reconnected the old wired thermostat and it still doesn't work.

The underfloor heating is working fine.

Any suggestions? Need help to avoid a very cold winter for my family.

Boiler is Vaillant Ecotec Plus 637

Comments

• policywonk
    policywonk ✭✭✭
    edited September 23
    You should have two dedicated zone valves dedicated to the CH and UFH flow. One may turn on the UFH and another which turns on the CH pump and radiator feeds. Check both those zone valves. Make sure both actually activate when requested. You should be able to feel them open and close.

The fact that this system did work once suggests that one of those valves is having trouble.
  • policywonk
    policywonk ✭✭✭
    edited September 23
    You state you have two UFH zones. It is possible that one the UFH wiring centres is actually in control of all heating, informing both the Tado starter kit, and is also is the primary driver for the boiler. It really depends on how your fitters wired in the UFH services.