Really struggling with radiiator valves - inaccurate and have a mind of their own

Options

I'm new to Tado having setup the basic thermostat about a month ago. At first using just that I was impressed however since adding some radiator valves the system isn't working well.

I've bought 8 valves but only installed 2, for now if two bedrooms so I can test them out. The main issue is the inaccuracy of the temperature sensor. I now realise this is a known issue and have tried offsetting the value but it's hard to manage what temperature the rooms should be set too because it under and over reads!

My daughters room sits between 15 and 22 degrees when measuring the temp via a (known good) digital thermometer, however Tado reads 12 at the coldest and 25 at the warmest so an offset is useless. I can't mount the valve horizontally nor do I want to change the plumbing as I've got 25 radiators in total so it's just not a viable option.

My other issue is that the schedules are 'sometimes' ignored. While sleeping my bedroom is set to 16 degrees yet for some reason at 12:30am this morning both bedrooms ramped up to 20 degrees. With a winder duvet, waking up in a sweat at 1am then having to sort out the heating isn't ideal. I also had to make sure my 1 year old daughter was OK as she's in a winter sleeping bag.

Are there going to be any firmware fixes or remote temp probes (not the ridiculous idea of buying another thermostat)?

I'm going the system a few more weeks before ripping it out and sending it back. I really want to love Tado but I'd rather go back to a dumb system at this stage.

Thanks for any help anyone can offer.

Answers

• datoon
    Options

I've found that sometimes the thermostatic radiator valves become stuck open.

I pop off the thermostat and take the batteries out for 30 seconds then put it back on. Usually this sorts out any calibration issues.

• samd
    samd ✭✭✭
    Options

Hello