Looking for advice on setting up bypass radiators

Options

I was wondering what an efficient way of setting up bypass radiators is?

Firstly what is the difference in setting up a radiator to act as a bypass in these different ways?

1) No SRV fitted, just set to be open (TRV removed)

2) SRV (set to, say, 25 degrees) , but set to be 'independent' from zone controller

3) Standard TRV left to, say, '5' on a scale of 1-6.

I have 2 bathroom towel radiators that dont have an SRV, just always set to low.

Then I have a hallway and kitchen (both on SRV) that I dont really care what temp they hit, should these 2 be set to independent and 25 degrees? Or would this steal heat when its being called for elsewhere?

I was readinf @eezytiger comments on this thread:

Comments

• eezytiger
    eezytiger ✭✭✭
    edited February 2022
    Options

@Floob

Since you referenced my post I will offer a reply, but with the caveat that I am a layman in heating systems and have only been building my knowledge since installing Tado last October.

A bypass radiator is only required if you do not have a bypass valve already built into the pipework or integrated within the boiler. Its purpose is to make sure that water can still flow during pump overrun when all radiators are shut down via TRVs/SRTs/manually. My boiler - Vaillant Ecotec Plus 831 - has an integrated bypass within the boiler and the installation instructions state that TRVs/SRTs may be fitted to all radiators.

Currently I do have a bypass radiator (in the hall with the "main" thermostat) due to legacy installation of the heating system 34 years ago. I have only recently come to realise that, with my current boiler, I could actually fit an SRV to this radiator to complete the set, and that is my plan.

So, first question - do you need a bypass radiator on your system at all?