Installing Wireless thermostat kit v3+ on a Vaillant EcoTec Pro24 Boiler with SALUS Controller

Options

Disclaimer: I am not an engineer, nor am I particularly skilled in anything plumbing or electrical. Essentially I'm layman with everything to do with boilers. I do however have a basic understanding of electronics, and I do like taking things part and solving an interesting problem

Recently, I bought the Tado Wireless Kit V3+ to install on a Vaillant EcoTec Pro24 Combi-Boiler with a SALUS RT510TX Wireless Thermostat & Controller. However, either there were no clear instructions for me to follow on the above setup, or I couldn't find them. The Tado installation manual was useful, but did not match the configuration of the boiler PCB, and all the resources around the boiler (manuals etc) either did not match my PCB exactly, or had conflicting diagrams.

I tried following the instructions as best I could, but could never control/turn on the heating from the app or thermostat.

my original set up and original wiring was as below:

Fig 1: Boiler panel and reverse of previous Wireless Thermostat

Fig 2: PCB with original wiring set up.

With Tado installed: my new wiring set up is as below:

Fig 3: New Wiring Set up with Tado successfully installed.

With the new wiring, I had to deviate slightly from what the basic instructions led with. Live and Neutral are still wired into the 230V Connector (Red Arrow, top right of Fig 3). However I had to remove a small, red bridging cable from the 24v RT connector (Purple Arrow, top left of fig 3) and instead, replace with the Black and Grey Switching cables

Fig 4: Wiring connections on the Tado Wireless

I then wired my Wireless receiver as Fig 4. Specifically:

• Brown Wire: Live from Receiver -Live (230v) from PCB
  • Blue Wire: Neutral from Receiver - Neutral (230v) from PCB
  • Black Wire: CH COM - RT (leftmost connection under purple arrow in Fig 3) from PCB