Worcester 2000 Comfort+ II RF

Options

Hi, I bought a new tadoº Starter Kit V3+ yesterday. I tried to set it up today, but when I scanned the Programmer, it asked me to search for my boiler (which is a 'Worcester 2000' with the 'Comfort+ II RF' wireless thermostat). It said I would have to contact support, so I tapped the button to do that and I just got a response that is so confusing!

The response said "tado° can only control your system using the relay. If you were previously using a bus interface, you may lose functionality such as boiler modulation for example.

Please confirm if you want to install the tado° system as a relay so that we can send you the installation instructions."

Now I am not a boiler engineer and I know nothing about any of this really! I don't understand what a relay is or a bus interface?! I tried searching online but it's all very confusing and I can't make heads or tails of it!

Before buying the kit, I searched on the tadoº website, and it said that it was compatible with Worcester boilers. Why do they wait until AFTER I've bought the thing to tell me I can’t use it?!

Comments

• JohnWH
    JohnWH ✭✭
    edited February 2022
    Options

@BlueLightAlarm

Relay control of a central heating boiler is simple off/on (like turning a light switch off/on). Most modern boilers now provide digital interfaces which allow far better control and thus far better efficiency by controlling (=modulating) the burner power and the temperature of the circulating water. Here's a link to an article with more information on the advantages of one of the more common digital controls:

What is an OpenTherm Heating System? | Boiler Guide

I'm not familiar with which digital interfaces the Worcester boiler range have. Hopefully another user can help?