[Released – ver. 5.10] Manual Control of Home and Away mode

Comments

• The lack of response to this thread from tado is very telling. The disdain they show for their customers is made clear. This is a logical and obvious feature yet they ignore their customers.

• Yes I totally agree Tado you need to listen and act as I for one will NOT buy anymore tado equipment until you do.

• Hi folks,

I feel so disappointed as well regarding this lake of home/away manual switch. I contacted the support which ended up giving me workarounds like you. Basically configuring manually each device of the system.

I'm a software developer and I can ensure you that there are no technical reason to not implement this feature. In our case, Tado clearly want to force us to share our location in order to track us. This can be related to all massive surveillance revealed by the NYT last week (https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/12/19/opinion/location-tracking-cell-phone.html). Considering Amazon has heavily invested in tado, you can imagine where your data goes.

What can we do? Give a lot of feedback to Tado and publicly (App store, play store, Amazon) regarding this issue. It is nowhere mentioned that setting home/away mode requires sharing constantly our location when we bought those devices. That could help us to raise the issue with the GDPR concerns.

The behaviour of tado regarding this issue clearly doesn't inspire any trust in how they process our data.

• I too need the feature where I can turn on Home mode even though I am away. The lack of having this option is extremely annoying!
  • Just installed the system. It's taking some getting used to. However:

Before I bought it, I was aware of the subscription and the geofencing options. And was under the impression, that the system would work fine without geofencing.